Zebo and TOD return for Munster as Connacht name Marmion and Carty
Zebo and TOD return for Munster as Connacht name Marmion and Carty

Zebo and TOD return for Munster as Connacht name Marmion and Carty

MUNSTER HEAD COACH Anthony Foley has welcomed Ireland internationals Simon Zebo, Felix Jones and Tommy O’Donnell back into his starting XV for tomorrow’s Guinness Pro12 clash with Connacht in Thomond Park [KO 17.15].

Zebo is back in Munster’s 11 shirt. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Jones is named in Foley’s side at fullback, with Zebo on the left wing and O’Donnell in his usual position of openside flanker.

In total, Munster have made seven changes to the team that lost to Ospreys in the province’s most recent Pro12 fixture.

John Ryan and Stephen Archer are introduced to the front row on either side of hooker Eusebio Guinazu, while Donncha O’Callaghan and Billy Holland continue their second-row partnership.

O’Donnell is the only new face in the back row, Dave O’Callaghan and CJ Stander retaining their starting places.

Andrew Smith returns from a long-term knee injury to start at 13 outside captain Denis Hurley, meaning Keith Earls moves out to the right wing. Jones, who played on the wing against the Ospreys shifts to the 15 jersey, with Zebo wearing 11.

Ian Keatley and Duncan Williams continue as the halfbacks.

Hooker Duncan Casey makes his comeback from an ankle injury on the bench, alongside the likes of BJ Botha, Jack O’Donoghue and JJ Hanrahan.

Marmion makes his return from a shoulder problem. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Meanwhile, Connacht head coach Pat Lam has made four personnel changes to his XV to take on Munster.

Tiernan O’Halloran moves to fullback to accommodate the introduction of Darragh Leader on the right wing, while there is a renewed halfback pairing in the shape of Kieran Marmion and Jack Carty.

Click Here: Edinson Cavani jersey sale

Eoghan Masterson is named at openside flanker, joining up with captain John Muldoon and number eight George Naoupu.

There are further changes to the bench, as Conor Finn, Shane O’Leary, Quinn Roux and Eoin McKeon are all included.

Jason Harris-Wright, Sean Henry, Nathan White, Michael Swift, Mata Fifita, Willie Faloon, Jake Heenan, Bundee Aki Dave McSharry, Niyi Adeolokun and Mils Muliaina are all currently injured, while Robbie Henshaw is unavailable on account of the IRFU player management protocols.

Munster have announced that 17,000 tickets have already been sold for tomorrow evening’s inter-provincial derby in Limerick.


15. Felix Jones
14. Keith Earls
13. Andrew Smith
12. Denis Hurley (captain)
11. Simon Zebo
10. Ian Keatley
9. Duncan Williams

1. John Ryan
2. Eusebio Guinazu
3. Stephen Archer
4. Donncha O’Callaghan
5. Billy Holland
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. CJ Stander


16. Duncan Casey
17. Dave Kilcoyne
18. BJ Botha
19. Paddy Butler
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Neil Cronin
22. JJ Hanrahan
23. Ronan O’Mahony


15. Tiernan O’Halloran
14. Darragh Leader
13. Danie Poolman
12. Craig Ronaldson
11. Matt Healy
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Denis Buckley
2. Tom McCartney
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Mick Kearney
5. Aly Muldowney
6. John Muldoon (captain)
7. Eoghan Masterson
8. George Naoupu


16. Shane Delahunt
17. Ronan Loughney
18. Finlay Bealham
19. Quinn Roux
20. Eoin McKeon
21. John Cooney
22. Shane O’Leary
23. Conor Finn

Referee: Leighton Hodges.

Leinster looking for kick start with dangerous Glasgow in townA former Ireland U20 hooker made his Super Rugby debut this morning